FIFA Confederations Cup – Russia 2017

Picture of Confederations cupThe FIFA Confederations Cup is an international tournament, currently held every four years. It is contested by the holders of each of the six

(UEFACONMEBOLCONCACAFCAFAFCOFC) regional championships, along with the FIFA World Cup holder and the host nation, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

The current Confederations Cup holders are Brazil who in 2013 beat Spain 3-0 for a record fourth title. However, Brazil won’t be at the 2017 tournament as they were knocked out by Paraguay in the 2015 Copa America in the quarter final stages.

The 8 teams contesting this year’s tournament are:

Cameroon (African Cup of Nations Winners – 2017)

Australia (AFC Asian Cup Winners – 2015)

Germany (World Cup Winners – 2014)

Portugal (UEFA Euro Winners – 2016)

Russia (Tournament hosts automatic qualification)

Mexico (CONCACAF Gold Cup Winners – 2015)

New Zealand (OFC Nations Cup Winners – 2016)

Chile (Copa America Winners – 2015)


With the tournament being held in Russia, It will be the ideal preview into what we can expect with next years 2018 World Cup. More importantly for European viewers, it also means decent kick off times with games starting at 4 pm or 7 pm. This is ideal for football fans suffering withdrawals during the Summer months.

Picture of Cristiano Ronaldo and Alexis Sanchez

Favourites to win the tournament have to be Germany, However, they have been known to experiment with their squad. So maybe this will favour the Cristiano Ronaldo-led Portugal team or Chile with Alexis Sanchez looking to make an impact as striker

Opening Match is Saturday 17th June kick off 4 pm UK time with the tournament’s final game being played on 2nd July kick off 7 pm UK time.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *